Go Coconuts!

Lots to love about coconuts.  But it wasn’t too long ago that we were told to steer clear.  Coconuts have a high percentage of saturated fat.  But as it turns out, it is a very healthy version of saturated fat.

Here are just some of the health benefits being attributed to coconuts:

Anti-viral, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal, boosts metabolism, helps the thyroid, full of minerals (good electrolytes), great for skin…..the list is pretty long.   Recent research has even suggested it for dementia and Alzheimers.  Just google coconut health benefits and see for yourself.

I buy organic virgin coconut oil.  I always put a teaspoon’s worth in my whey protein shake (which I have most mornings), I use it to cook with (chicken, fish, eggs, etc), and I put it on my face as a moisturizer.

In India (home of ayurvedic medicine) they call the coconut tree – The Tree of Life.

