Working on a Wrinkle Free Recipe that you can drink! Part 1…..

I’ve been doing a little research on the most important nutrients for healthy skin.  I want to come up with a food fix.

I personally define healthy skin as glowing, minimal wrinkling, strong connective tissue, good elasticity and flexibility, a healthy moisture content, and the ability to fight off oxidizing free radical damage.

Research shows that the best nutrients to do this are:  Vitamin A, C, E, Carotenoids, K, and Biotin.  Also the minerals Silica, Selenium, Zinc, and Copper.  And the Omega-3’s.

My goal is to get all of these nutrients into one drink.

So I searched for foods that had the highest content of each of these nutrients.  Looking particularly for foods that would be good juicing candidates.

And the winners are: (note: these foods have many more nutrients than listed, I was just going for the skin nutrients)

  • Kale (Vit A, C, E, carotenoids, K, copper)
  • Cucumber (silica)
  • Celery (Vit C, K, silica)
  • Spinach (selenium, zinc, copper)
  • Almonds or Peanuts  (biotin)
  • Chia or flax seeds (omega 3)
  • Strawberry, raspberry (Vit C)
  • Blueberry (Vit E)

So now I have my ingredients.  The next step is to come up with a juice recipe that tastes good.

While I work on that I will probably google the zillion juice recipes out there to see if any of them include all my ingredients.  Why re-invent the wheel!

P.S.  It’s been drummed into us that we need to eat at least 5-9 servings of vegetables and fruits per day.  A large glass of the above just about does it.

P.P.S.  Notice how I said vegetables and fruits NOT fruits and vegetables.  Vegetables should be given top billing.  They have the highest nutrient content and the lowest calorie content.  Major bang for the buck!

